Creative Revolt – DIY projects and patterns 4 U

Upcycle: Tea Towels

Retrofit Culture – posted this article and I have to agree I love upcycling old tea towels. This is so inspirational. Go to her Etsy store to check out what she’s got!!

Retrofit Culture

I love vintage. And I love using vintage for it’s intended purpose; there is nothing better than when a vintage piece finds a home in your house right along side your other belongings.

BUT, I also LOVE when vintage pieces get upcycled and become entirely new items for your home!

I was recently posting some new items to my Etsy store and listed a few calendar tea towels. It started me thinking ‘how can these out of date calendars be used anew?’. So I looked around the interwebs and blogosphere and here’s what I’ve found…

Fun ideas for vintage tea towels (calendar or otherwise)

Napkins

I love this idea! And it look pretty simple, too. Picture and tutorial can be found at http://www.onepearlbutton.com/2008/08/tutorial-tea-towel-to-cocktail-napkins.html.

Pillows

Very chic! Plus many of these vintage tea towels are so soft, I can imagine they’d make great pillows! Pictures and how-to’s at http://katydiddys.blogspot.com/2011/09/sewing-projects-for-vintage-tea-towels.html.

View original post 208 more words

This entry was published on July 22, 2012 at 8:33 am and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

